Skip to content Skip to navigation



Collaboration including Lindenberg group and SLAC UED team visualize motion of monolayer compounds

A recent paper involving the ultrafast electron diffraction instrument at SLAC by E. Mannebach et al., 2015 has been featured in SLAC Today. The collaboration, which included the Lindenberg, Heinz, and Reed groups, LCLS, SIMES, and NCSU MSE (Linyou Cao group) among others, conducted a pump-probe experiment using laser and electron pulses to observe the dynamics of molybdenum disulfide monolayers at femtosecond timescales.

SLAC creates new opportunities in ultrafast science by building one of the world's fastest "electron cameras"

Scientists at SLAC, including PULSE PIs, Markus Guehr, Ryan Coffee, Alan Fry, and Aaron Lindenberg, have built a new scientific instrument that allows researchers to observe the motion of electrons and atomic nuclei at incredibly short timescales - less than a tenth of a trillionth of a second. This instrument relies on a method called Ultrafast Electron Diffraction, where scientists are able to capture subtle differences in the diffraction patterns of electron waves that scatter off atomic nuclei and electrons as they pass through a sample. The diffraction patterns are then combined to reconstruct ultrafast motions of the sample's interior structure. 

To see the full article published on the SLAC website, please follow this link.

To read the full text of the article published in the journal, Review of Scientific Instruments, please follow this link.


Subscribe to Front page feed